I just learned that in Florida Tele-marketers need to be licensed. Not just the company doing the tele-marketing but each tele-marketing rep!
“Telemarketing without a license is a felony under Florida law, which requires all businesses and individual salespersons engaging in telephone solicitation to be licensed by the state.”
Each business pays $1500 annually and each employee is $50, according to the state of Florida website. But the list of exemptions in the law are long, including:
“A person who does not make the major sales presentation during the telephone solicitation and who does not intend to, and does not actually, complete or obtain provisional acceptance of a sale during the telephone solicitation, but who makes the major sales presentation and completes the sale at a later face-to-face meeting between the seller and the prospective purchaser in accordance with the home solicitation provisions in this chapter. However, if a seller, directly following a telephone solicitation, causes an individual whose primary purpose it is to go to the prospective purchaser to collect the payment or deliver any item purchased, this exemption does not apply.”
The state of Florida is cracking down on tele-marketers, but if you do the math, we probably spend more money chasing them than we collect.
Tele-marketing rules summary for Florida.